Sale price$25.00



This was the second album in the trilogy of solo albums I made for Bootleg Records before eventually moving to LA and signing with Capitol Records.

The first album Brian Cadd had gone amazingly well as did the single Ginger Man. So it was then a matter of being able to follow that up.

We recorded the first side as separate tracks and Keep on Rockin’ became the single. We were touring intensively once the album was released and Keep on Rockin’ became a hit, primarily because of reaction to it on stage. I still often play it.

During the writing of this album I kept coming up with little mini country songs. Really just snippets. They gradually became linked to each other in sound and content.

I had never attempted a ‘suite’ before (not many really did in the pop world) so I decided to link these little songs together with a story-line. In so many respects they harked back to the enormous influence on me of story-tellers like The Band. Ron Tudor from Bootleg Records was horrified that I had recorded one continuous B side of the album that was 22-minutes long. But he went along with it, fortunately.

I’m so proud of The Ballad Of a Country Lady although it was never performed on stage. Maybe I could now.


Alvin Purple and Sometime Man were both out of the Alvin Purple movie soundtrack; one of the most fun musical things to ever happen to me.

Gimme Gimme Good Lovin’ I recorded in Los Angeles two years later as part of my deal with Chelsea records. First time in an LA studio, with some wonderful session musicians including Jim Gordon on drums. Brian Cadd 2019


01 Heroes

02 Handy Man

03 Give Me A Present

04 Matilda

05 Keep On Rockin’

06 Sweet Little Country Lady

07 Too Young

08 Kingston River Travellin’ Man

09 Riverboat Lady

10 Little Old Country Lady



11 Alvin Purple (Theme)

12 Every Mothers Son

13 Sometime Man

You may also like

Recently viewed